Uncategorized

A Rock’n Relaxation Cruise on MSC Poesia: Day 2

By Marcus Hall

Photos & Edit By Andrea Romero

band poster

DAY 2
The next morning an announcement came on, informing us that we would not be porting at the island of Coco Cay. The seas were too rough for the smaller boats to shuttle us. Plus the weather didn’t look like it would cooperate with us that day either. It was going to be a relaxing day at sea. Steve and I went our separate ways and found our own spots on the ship to read. I think the ship was really caught off guard by the weather, because there were no activities on the ship that day. I almost finished the book I was reading.

All the shows that night were private for people who booked the Shiprocked Cruise Package. Later Rich, a friend on the ship, joined me for a glass of wine and watched a football game on television. When the game was over, I hit the club. To my surprise the club was really empty. I left and came back twice, each time the club never getting any busier. I think it was due to the cruise being mostly rock enthusiasts.

We would be in Nassau tomorrow.

Nassau

Steve and I got up early to do some sight seeing around Nassau. Last time I was here I didn’t get the chance to do much, other than go to Atlantis. We went to the beach first. The beaches in Nassau are gorgeous. The surf was pretty rough. I got a picture of a wave crashing higher than a lighthouse. We made our way up the hill to the old post office, then back down so I could look for some shirts as souvenirs for my mom and dad. Steve went back to the ship while I went back to Atlantis. Atlantis is like any themed resort you would find in Las Vegas, except that it isn’t in Las Vegas.

atlantis

Once I made it back on the ship I went down for a snooze.  After a few Zzz’s, I heard music playing from the pool deck. I instantly recognized the song. Sevendust was playing on the pool deck! I threw my shoes on and shot out the door. I’m a major fan of Sevendust’s music. I wasn’t about to miss an opportunity to see them live. This is the band that got me into hard rock! After their set I ran into the lead singer in the stairwell. I have to admit I was smiling ear to ear.

concert

Dinner had a very Italian theme.  Steve and I both felt the wait staff in the dinning room were fantastic, despite the slight  language barrier. We went to the room to change clothes and went to the pool deck to watch the last band perform. I didn’t catch the name of the band, but they were decent. Steve and I ended up going back to the room and relaxed on the balcony.

It was back to reality the next morning, and a long drive home. Even though it was a rock cruise I still got the chance to recharge my batteries. I got my relax-cation and some unexpected rocking out. I couldn’t ask for much more.

Standard

Leave a comment